Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) 

What is FSMA? 

FSMA stands for the Food Safety Modernization Act, which is a comprehensive reform of food safety laws in the United States aimed at preventing foodborne illnesses. 

When was FSMA enacted? 

FSMA was signed into law by President Barack Obama on January 4, 2011. 

What are the key objectives of FSMA? 

The key objectives of FSMA are to shift the focus of food safety regulations from responding to foodborne illness outbreaks to preventing them. It aims to achieve this by implementing preventive controls throughout the food supply chain, enhancing the safety of imported foods, and improving the detection and response to food safety hazards. 

Who is required to comply with FSMA? 

FSMA applies to all entities involved in the production, processing, distribution, and sale of food products in the United States, including farmers, food processors, importers, and retailers. Certain exemptions and modified requirements apply to small businesses and specific types of food facilities. 

What are the key provisions of FSMA? 

Some key provisions of FSMA include the implementation of preventive controls for human and animal food, the establishment of a foreign supplier verification program, the issuance of mandatory recall authority for the FDA, and the requirement for food facilities to develop and implement food safety plans based on hazard analysis and risk-based preventive controls. 

food traceability, food supply chain

Please leave your details with us and we will connect with you for relevant positions.

[hubspot type=form portal=8343454 id=e6eb5c02-8b9e-4194-85cc-7fe3f41fe0f4]
food traceability, food supply chain

Please fill the form for all Media Enquiries, we will contact you shortly.

[hubspot type=form portal=8343454 id=a77c8d9d-0f99-4aba-9ea6-3b5c5d2f53dd]
food traceability, food supply chain

Kindly fill the form and our Partnership team will get in touch with you!

[hubspot type=form portal=8343454 id=b8cad09c-2e22-404d-acd4-659b965205ec]